Sally Baked Beans

I have two wonderful Sally’s in my life – my mom and my mother in law. Both are fantastic cooks.

Today, Jesse smoked some amazing ribs all afternoon and we ate them with two “Sally” side dishes. My mom’s cole slaw and my mother in law’s baked beans.

The recipe is actually the baked bean recipe her mother used to make in Naugatuck, CT. It is astounding to me every time I make them how four super simple ingredients can turn into something so delicious. These beans have a nice balance of sweet and savory, and a perfect creamy texture.

If you are vegetarian or would just rather not put bacon in your baked beans, you can leave off the bacon. Just sauté the onions in a little butter or oil and stir in a few drops of liquid smoke (or not). I have made these beans with and without bacon many times and they are equally as delicious.

Sally Baked Beans

2 cans Great Northern Beans, not drained

3 slices bacon, diced

1/2 medium onion, small dice

2 tablespoons brown sugar

Preheat oven to 350°.

Cook bacon pieces over medium heat until fat begins to render. Add onions and cook mixture until onions soften.

Pour beans and liquid into 1-2 quart casserole dish. Stir in bacon, onions and brown sugar.

Bake uncovered at 350° for about 1 1/2 hours, stirring every 30 minutes.

Leave a comment